The scholarship was established in 1961 and is maintained by the income from a gift from Miriam E. Wippell, to assist students studying in the Bachelor of Veterinary Science.


An applicant is eligible for the award of a scholarship if the applicant:
(a) Enrols in the first year of the Bachelor of Veterinary Science or Bachelor of Veterinary Science (Honours) program;
(b) Is entering tertiary study for the first time; and
(c) Applies for the scholarship by the closing date for applications.

About the award

Selection criteria

For the selection process, the Head must establish a selection committee comprising -
(a) the Head, School of Veterinary Science, or nominee, as chair of the committee; and
(b) two (2) academic staff members who are currently teaching in the Faculty of Science.

The scholarship is awarded to the applicants showing greatest merit as demonstrated by –
(a) Academic background, prizes and achievement in secondary school assessments; and
(b) Any other matters the committee sees fit.


The scholarship is tenable for a period of up to 5 years and is subject to:
(a) the recipient maintaining satisfactory academic progress each semester; and
(b) the recipient's continued full-time enrolment in the program for which the scholarship was awarded.

A recipient failing to maintain satisfactory academic progress must show cause to the Associate Dean (Academic) why the scholarship should not be cancelled.

How to apply

The School of Veterinary Science will notify students via email regarding the application process for this prize.
Before you apply:

You are encouraged to read the definitive rules for this scholarship prior to application, in particular any specific eligibility conditions and check the FAQs if you have any questions.

 2015 Miriam E. Wippell Undergraduate Scholarship rules 16.04.2015.pdf

Opening date: 
Monday, February 27, 2017 - 10:45
Closing date: 
Friday, March 24, 2017 - 17:00