Volunteer Details: 

Hi,  My name is Mavelly Velandia, 20-years-old, and a student at HAS University of Applied Sciences in The Netherlands, in my 3rd year studying for a BSc in Applied Biology. During my 3rd year, I should conduct two internships. I am currently doing my first internship on Bonaire; this is also the island I grew up on. I lived here 18 years before I went off to study in The Netherlands. I am working part-time on a research program, via Wageningen Marine Research in The Netherlands, into the current abundance and distribution of elasmobranchs around the island using BRUV surveys. I am also working part-time as an intern for Stichting Nationale Parken Bonaire (STINAPA Bonaire). This internship will cover 17 weeks and ends late December. In total, I have to do 40 weeks of internships this year; with my first internship being 17 weeks, my second internship should be up 23 weeks (beginning of Febuary till late July). I am looking for a non-paid internship in the area of marine conservation.I would be happy to assist any ongoing projects. However, It is required for me to do a small research project of my own for my course in The Netherlands. This could be an existing project or I could suggest something of mutual interest. I have a PADI Open Water certification and a PADI Peak Performance Bouyance Specialty, with over 150 dives. In the past I have been a tour guide on snorkel trips and a receptionist at a mangrove kayak center on Bonaire. I like interacting with people and sharing my knowledge about everything I know. I have experience in the field, lab, and in the office. I am a hard worker, a good listener, and can get along with anyone.  Currently I am working all around, doing multiple things at STINAPA. I work with the STINAPA Junior Rangers, a group of kids that learn to become nature embassadors. I give them presentations about mangroves, sharks, etc., and also helping them with snorkeling and diving. So, children are no problem for me! I have also been working on a coral bleaching survey with my supervisor Caren Ekrich (careneckrich@gmail.com) - diving near shore and from boats and entering data in the office.   I have always been interested in corals, how they live, grow, reproduce, etc. But I would be happy to assist with anything associated with marine life: as long as I am near the ocean I will be happy.  I will have sufficient funds to cover my travel and living allowances. I am self-funded, with a budget of 1.200$ a month, and insured wherever I go. I have my own dive gear: BCD, regulator, mask, fins, snorkel, wetsuit, weights. I am also used to being out in the sun and in the ocean all day.           

Contact Name: 
Mavelly Velandia
Contact Email: 
Volunteer Location: 
Australia in general